The education of Ogyen Trinley Dorje in his own words / L’éducation des Ogyen Trinley Dorje dans ses propres mots

2015/04/img_8252.jpg

I submit for your consideration a short video, “His Holiness The 17th Karmapa On Tibet, China and Happiness”, from the Huffington Post, featuring Ogyen Trinley Dorje and his translator Lama Yeshe Gyamtso. I watched it. I’ll have to sleep on it before commenting any further than to say it seem to have went well. I’m accustomed to the presence of Lama Yeshe. It was a bit weird that he was needed given he was only translating Ogyen Trinley Dorje’s responses. His Holiness presumably understands English.

Karmapa Chenno!

Je soumets à votre considération une courte vidéo, “Sa Sainteté le 17ème Karmapa sur le Tibet, la Chine et le bonheur”, du Huffington Post, avec Ogyen Trinley Dorje et son traducteur Lama Yeshe Gyamtso. Je l’ai regardé. Je vais devoir dormir sur elle avant de commenter plus loin que de dire qu’il semble avoir bien passé. Je suis habitué à la présence de Lama Yeshe. C’était un peu bizarre qu’il était nécessaire étant donné qu’il ne faisait que traduire les réponses de Ogyen Trinley Dorje. Sa Sainteté le comprend sans doute anglais.

Karmapa Chenno!

13 Comments

Filed under Buddhism

13 responses to “The education of Ogyen Trinley Dorje in his own words / L’éducation des Ogyen Trinley Dorje dans ses propres mots

  1. kennynamgyal

    The Karmapa decided to drop in on the DC Tibetan community. It was a nice event, it wasn’t translated – not a big deal – I kept the babies around me occupied playing peek-a-boo and the parents could listen.

  2. Just to toss out another option that may interest you, there is the DharmaPath at Kagyu Thubten Choling. http://www.kagyu.com/dharma-path

    Its significantly cheaper, a one-time payment of $150 … you get a mentor (who would be a graduate of the three-year retreat run by Lama Norlha Rinpoche) and you can go as far as you want with it.

  3. Yes … I am a member of a center in DC associated with Kagyu Thubten Choling. I won’t lay any claim to being the most diligent of DharmaPath students, but it is nice having access to the teachings and knowing a lama is available if I have any questions.

    Everyone’s financial situation is different, but I think cost is a valid consideration, in my case I have a child that depends on my wife and I – so I have that to think about.

  4. Kim

    Never been. I’ve heard good things about him though and seen a teaching with he and the zen teacher Angel Kyoto Williams on YouTube.

    KTD doesn’t have a single western lama that’s a person of color, correct?

    • Kim

      Not that they need to. Who knows maybe an all Tibetan and all white lama class suits where KTD wants to be (exclusive and profoundly gifted).

  5. I don’t think its a KTD thing. But, I do think the fact that minorities are under represented in the American version of the Dharma speaks more to American culture in whole, than to the mores of any subsection.

Leave a Reply

