We have no idea where the Karmapa gets his money

Mike said of Ogyen Trinley Dorje, “The Current Bogankar has up until recently been protected by HHGK17.”

Bogankar Rinpoche was caught red handed with a pile of unaccounted cash.

“Ogyen Trinley Dorje’s Karma Kagyu sect is flush with cash of which it cannot account for where it came from or how it is spent.”

Literally.

“Ogyen Trinley Dorje’s monastic seat in Woodstock, New York, KTD, cannot account for where its money comes from either.

Unlike in India, apparently, here in America all you need is to be a 501c3 to launder money.

“We have no idea where the Karmapa gets his money from other than from Chinese sources.”

And this will be, regardless of the outcome of his prosecution for corruption in India, the undoing of the Karmapa’s sect as a religious institution in America.

4 Comments

Filed under Buddhism

4 responses to “We have no idea where the Karmapa gets his money

  1. I agree with the overarching issue of “where’s the money coming from” as it relates to the larger Karma Kagyu sect. However, KTD seems legitimate and ethical to me. I have donated, I am able to choose where my money goes, and I receive information related to non-profit organization.

    I do not know specific information on who donates, and I don’t care to. Lots of donations are anonymous on purpose.

    • I have it on good authority that KTD cannot account for where its money comes from other than that it comes from Mr and Mrs Chen, pick a Chinese name, or some Chinese benevolent society, which makes it a perfect set up for laundering money from sources which would otherwise reflect badly on Ogyen Trinley Dorje personally and damage his sect as a religious institution here in America.

  2. Osel Karl

    I expect everyone to think just as I do and do everything just as I do as well!

    Just kidding.

    Just want Tibetans to follow the rules; they should heed the laws of the land, not break them.

  3. Jane

    He gets a lot of money from envelopes with no names on them. I wrote my name (and From) on an envelope that I gave a rinpoche; he laughed and seemed confused as to why I’d written my name there.

Leave a Reply

