That KTD’s retreat master is down on America suits China’s interests here

Picture of Lama Karma visiting his delighted parents in China whom have obviously benefited from its occupation of Tibet

“Whatever issue members of the Woodstock community may have with Ogyen Trinley Dorje’s choice for their retreat master they need to get over them.”

So says Jonathan.

“As far as KTD’s backers in China are concerned that he is the nephew of a highly regarded Diaspora Tibetan,” Jonathan adds, born and raised in occupied Tibet, pro-Chinese and anti-American,”

Jonathan concludes,

“suits the purposes of China here quite well, thank you, America, which is why it is so financially vested in its success as an example of its support of preserving Tibetan tradition values here.”

9 Comments

Filed under Buddhism

9 responses to “That KTD’s retreat master is down on America suits China’s interests here

  1. As HH the Karmapa stated when he was in the States, “What is pointed out in experience, must always take precedence over mere tradition and custom.”

  2. Osel Karl

    It’s a good point. Lama Karma exists as he does as a result of the influence of China over the affairs at KTD.

    There is no use in complaining; what’s done is done.

    We can either suck it up, or leave. If we leave, it’s best to remember that the loss of our presence will hardly be felt…

    • If I ever cared that my presence was felt. That statement refers to people who care. There is a wide assumption here that people want an established Karma Kagyu here and that the Tibetans running it have some authority over us. They don’t. They are teaching Tibetan practices that I don’t much about investing a great deal of my time or money. Therefore, I don’t attend and it really makes no difference to me if they notice or not.

      What’s with the drama about “…presence will hardly be felt?”

      Lama Karma was nice and I’ve learned good practices. I can’t really say many of them are good role models. I don’t care about their feelings vice versa. They don’t even know us to make an informed decision.

      • Osel Karl

        I meant that we are basically disposable. Nothing more than an empty commodity to which they are only connected as long as our pocketbooks or wallets are open.

        As to whether or not we benefit from their instruction is beside the point as far as they are concerned, we are merely a means to an end…

  3. Really? Are they sitting there actually thinking about how useless we are? There are very few people I would give that much credit too, hardly anybody actively sits there and quantifies either how disposable or indisposable someone is. Are they laughing at us? Pondering each and every one of us at the teachings for our worthiness? That seems farfetched to me.

    I’m not sure where this rabbit hole goes or as you put it what “ends” you speak of. Identity theft? Credit card fraud? Lost in a Bardo forever?

    I get what your saying but I don’t get why I need to care that they don’t care. I never wanted to be their pet or accepted as one of them. I just went to some teachings and I hope it did some good.

    • Osel Karl

      You don’t need to care.

      I’m just saying words.

    • okiebuddhist

      I agree with your comments, wenderwoman.

      And, what are you practicing these days?

      I tend to practice Mahamudra. I’m really surprised how strong Ringu Tulku’s new book is. (Confusion Arises as Wisdom) It has been the most practical advice I’ve received on meditation instruction in awhile. Ringu spells out quickly the features of a great teacher:

      1. Devotion to the three jewels
      2. Compassion for sentient beings
      3. Genuine realization of the profound meaning
      4. Motivation to teach the dharma with no consideration of personal gain.

      These four points limit the great teachers to a handful.

      Okiebuddhist

  4. Hi Okie, I don’t know but I must have put my imp hat on today. My current practice is probably B12 supplements and an Om Mani Padme Hung randomly thrown in.

    I am very grateful for having attended the teachings I did but I can’t say enough how I lost all interest in becoming Tibetan and, therefore, stopped going. I do like Shamatha and one-pointed meditation but I barely do them at all.

    I’ve liked many teachers but I gravitate toward Drikung teachers. As for texts, I still like Suzuki and Shantideva the best. As a storyline, I love Milarepa.

    Oh, and I like Brunnholzl.

    • okiebuddhist

      I’m a poetry person, so I definitely connect to Milarepa and Shantideva. I liked to read them instead of having commentaries. Buddhists love their commentaries! I don’t!

      Omega-3 and a multivitamin is helping me stay afloat. Beyond that, there is a Bob Dylan lyric that says, “I’m tryin’ to get to heaven before they close the door.” So, we’re both pressing on beautifully, I feel.

      Take care,
      Okiebuddhist

Leave a Reply

