“What will your mother think?” So you think you are a Tibetan Buddhist

Picture the old man instagramed, he googled disappointed mother, and this was one of the images that came up, the Bears aren’t on the TV and Babs is out, to illustrate this episode of Pulp Buddhism in which the Naropa Prairie Dog Players discuss their experiences as Tibetan Buddhists

Caroline replies.

“I know that look well.”

Sally replies.

“I don’t think of myself as a Tibetan Buddhist.”

Sally adds.

“I’m familiar with the disappointed mom look.”

Allen replies.

“There are no children in this restaurant.”

Caroline replies.

“Where are the grandchildren?”

Sally replies.

“By my age my mother had three kids.”

Allen replies.

“Kids are expensive.”

Sally replies.

“So is being a Tibetan Buddhist.”

Caroline replies.

“Three years in retreat will set you back, let’s say, fourty grand.”

Allen adds.

“A kid will set you back much more than that.”

Sally adds.

“My mom is my best friend.”

Caroline adds.

“I shudder at the thought of my mother.”

Caroline continues.

“You bet I’m a Tibetan Buddhist.”
Caroline pauses.

” And, yes, my mother thought I had lost my mind.”

End scene. Fini.

Another episode of Pulp Buddhism brought to you by the Naropa Prairie Dog Players and by viewers like you, thank you for your support.

2 Comments

Filed under Buddhism

2 responses to ““What will your mother think?” So you think you are a Tibetan Buddhist

  1. Eric

    Putting down his chopsticks and savoring the savory yet delicately sweet roast pork, Jon says, “My mom is in a nursing home. My Buddhism didn’t allow me the merit or generosity to be able to open my home to her. I shudder when I think of her.”

    “Ngondro never did it for me. But, Rinpoche gave me the lung and tri for it. I always thought he felt that I was cute- he’d give me the transmission for anything”, responds Leslie, pushing her bowl of half eaten rice and taking a sip of the warm bottle of beer at her side.

    “I never manifested the results, too. You should see my son. He’ll have nothing to do with me. Lazy guy”, Jon says as he reaches for his fortune cookie.

    Leslie smiles, “I don’t think any of our teachers could handle what we have to deal with. It’s like our worlds will never truly be the same.”

    “Probably not”, Jon responds, “I’ve never seen a Rinpoche put in a full day’s work that didn’t include at least one envelope of cash donation- it’s like they live in a goddamn world of Platonic Ideals. Makes my blood boil some times. Let’s get a drink at the bar, I’d prefer your company than talk about what we ‘should’ be doing. I gave up all that Catholic bullshit when I was a younger man. Have I told you that you look hot tonight? Cuz you do.”

  2. Jackie

    I’m still in the closet about having TB; it’s not something I want to talk about with most people. There must be many of us out there.

Leave a Reply

