Chogyam Trungpa on being at home with life’s irritations…

Picture the old man instagramed to illustrate this episode of Pulp Buddhism in which the Naropa Prairie Dog Players do a dramatic reading from volume five of Rinpoche’s collected works, in his own words…

Virginia begins.

“We might say, ‘I’ve been practicing; I’ve been seeking enlightenment, nirvana, but I’ve been constantly pushed back. At the beginning, I got some kind of kick out of those practices. I thought I was getting somewhere. I felt beautiful, blissful, and I thought I could get even better, get beyond even that. But then nothing happened. Practice became monotonous, and then I began to look for another solution, something else. Then at the same time, I thought, I’m starting to be unfaithful to the practices I’ve been given. I shouldn’t be looking for other practices. I shouldn’t look elsewhere, I should have faith, I should stick with it. Okay, let’s do it.’ So I stick with it. But it is still uncomfortable, monotonous. In fact, it is irritating, too painful.'”

Sally replies.

“We go on and on this way.”

Jonathan replies.

“We repeat ourselves.”

Jonathan continues.

“We build something up and make ourselves believe in it.”

Virginia replies.

“We say to ourselves, ‘Now I should have faith. If I have faith, if I believe, I’m going to be saved.’

Allen replies.

“We try to prefabricate faith in some way and get a momentary kick out of it.”

Jonathan replies.

“But then it ends up the same way again and again and again—we don’t get anything out of it.”

Virginia replies.

“There are always those problems with that approach to spirituality.”

Jonathan replies.

“We are not looking for a kick, for inspiration or bliss.”

Allen replies.

“Instead, we are digging into life’s irritations, diving into the irritations and making a home out of that.”

Jonathan replies.

“If we are able to make a home out of those irritations, then the irritations become a source of great joy, transcendental joy, mahasukha—because there is no pain involved at all.”

Virginia replies.

“This kind of joy is no longer related with pain or contrasted with pain at all.”

Virginia continues.

“So the whole thing becomes precise and sharp and understandable, and we are able to relate with it.”

End scene. Fini.

Another episode of Pulp Buddhism brought to you by the Naropa Prairie Dog Players and by viewers like you, thank you for your support.

1 Comment

Filed under Buddhism

One response to “Chogyam Trungpa on being at home with life’s irritations…

  1. Reblogged this on Ngakpa Jason and commented:
    Good advice when you have these difficulties in your practice. Chogyam Trungpa Rinpoche was one my favorite teachers. I am saddened that he is no longer with us. His passing was a pure realization in impermanence and emptiness. Watch “Crazy Wisdom” if you would like to know more about this wonderful teacher.

Leave a Reply

