What every American Buddhist needs to know about the 17th Karmapa, Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche, KTD and its affiliate centers

  

Asked what I hope to accomplish as a lama, I recently shared for the first time in public that I am a lama of the 16th Karmapa’s mahasiddha inspired crazy wisdom Karma Kagyu lineage, I’ve been one for years, something I had hitherto kept to myself as being between myself and my guru, Khenpo Karthar Rinpoche, as is our tradition, whom received this particular Buddhist lineage himself as Chogyam Trungpa Rinpoche did from Khenpo Gangshar in Tibet, to speak to my fellow Buddhists in the United States of America about something I learned this year as a Buddhist blogger, a 2010 Blogisattva Award finalist for my blog on KTD’s banishment of Bardor Tulku Rinpoche for the Elephant Journal, long story short a fellow lama, Marvin Moser, as a KTD lama, the first of his kind, one of the first students of Khenpo Karthar Rinpoche to complete the three year retreat at Karme Ling having exhausted every possible democratic means to get KTD, a dictatorship in which what Americans such as Marvin and his fellow KTD lamas want matters not, in this instance a majority of which whom supported Bardor Tulku Rinpoche’s call for Ogyen Trinley Dorje to remove Tenzin Chonyi as president of KTD for his refusal to rehire KTD’s facilities manager in 2008 for failing to mow his lawn that summer, to Ogyen Trinley Dorje, thus prompting Marvin to call upon me to as a Buddhist blogger to go public with this unprecedented corruption by Ogyen Trinley Dorje of our political process, of governance of the people by the people, which I did, not that given KTD is a dictatorship my doing so made any difference to Ogyen Trinley Dorje, he sent a lama from India to listen to Marvin and his fellow KTD lamas only to side with Tenzin Chonyi in this matter, all of which brings me to this latest development regarding Ogyen Trinley Dorje’s disregard as 17th Karmapa of the standards which all Buddhists in the United States of America hold all teachers of Buddhism in our country, that they not lie to us, which according to the Panama Papers, Ogyen Trinley Dorje did when after he was charged in 2011 by the Indian Government with violating its laws governing foreign currency, he was caught hiding millions of dollars in Chinese currency in suitcases at Gyuto Monastery, Ogyen Trinley Dorje claimed that it was all just a misunderstanding on his part, and pledged that he would henceforth be financially transparent with us, which as documented by the Panama Papers, this is not a blogger’s inference but public record, Ogyen Trinley Dorje used the very same law firm used by members of the Chinese Communist Party, a dictatorship, birds of a feather indeed do flock together, to hide money he received from members of the Chinese Buddhist community whom support said dictatorship’s efforts to rebrand itself as leader of the world’s Buddhists in an offshore account, something which as a lama I feel isn’t being addressed by Ogyen Trinley Dorje’s supporters in the United States, specifically Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche, KTD and its affiliates, thus prompting me to publicly call upon my fellow Buddhists in the United States to stand with me against Ogyen Trinley Dorje, his representative in the United States, Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche, KTD and its affiliate centers until we get to the bottom of who knew what, when and so on, and that whoever is responsible for what happened, as documented in the Panama Papers, is held to account for doing what otherwise would, rightly so, disqualify any other Buddhist teacher in America from ever teaching Buddhism to American Buddhists again.

24 Comments

Filed under Buddhism

24 responses to “What every American Buddhist needs to know about the 17th Karmapa, Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche, KTD and its affiliate centers

  1. Tenzin Samten

    I too as a person of Turtle Island stand for freedom of religion, and renounce tyranny. I heed your call, Lama Japhy, Naropa Prairie Dog Player, I too petition such tulkus as OTD, &c., such illegitimate heirs, themselves sorry victims of the crimes they perpetuate, for a redress of grievances, the truth, and nothing but the truth. Victory!

    • karma

      Well, that makes one other person…

      I see what’s going on here as basically American cultural imperialism. You guys provided refuge to some Tibetans and now you won’t rest until you own it, get personal recognition for it and they conform to your wishes. Otherwise you’ll slash and burn the whole thing down. Study some history. The Tibetans and Chinese have a loooong history which alternates between co-operation and war. The Tibetans are doing what they can to survive in a world which has forgotten the genocide, and I think you should show a little grace and flexibility in your approach, and be thankful for the teachings you’ve received.

      But instead it’s one long troll and brag session.

      “Hey, I meditated for a bit. I’m a lama! Out with the Tibetans and the way they have conducted their practices for the past 1000 years. They’re corrupt and rotten to the core blah, blah blah.”

      Puh-leez. It’s coming across to me as a self-indulgent first-world wank on the couch.

    • karma

      It says on FAQ on the official Panama papers website:
      “Should I assume that everyone named in the database has committed a crime?

      No, there are legitimate uses for offshore companies and trusts. We do not intend to suggest or imply that any persons, companies or other entities included in the ICIJ Offshore Leaks Database have broken the law or otherwise acted improperly.”

      • What the Panama Papers document is a matter of principle, the principles of the Buddhists of the United States of America, not the laws of the Indian Government which allow Ogyen Trinley Dorje, as 17th Karmapa to be a law unto himself in their country.

  2. karma

    I’m not referring to Buddhists. Buddhists don’t foster hatred and disharmony. I’m talking about you.

    • Rajiv

      It’s true, all Bill does is wank off all day. This blog is nothing but a cyber cum rag.

      • Keep those snarky comments coming, they perfectly illustrate what the Buddhists of America are up against, you go low and we go high.

      • BTW Karma and Rajiv are the same person.

        • karma

          Shows how little you actually know….

          • Nobody believes you though.

              • As far as you are concerned I reckon your nonsense this evening have generated at least 30 views which is all I care about, I can’t thank you enough for helping me bring attention to the cause of holding the powers that be to account here, something I couldn’t do without your inability to stop posting comments here which don’t help your cause, whatever that may be, beyond throwing shade up my being a lama which is no skin off my nose as long as I have the support of the Buddhists of America you and your ilk obviously have so much contempt for. Good luck with that.

                • karma

                  Of all the people that visit here, probably more than three quarters were doing a search for HH Karmapa. Most of those that do return do so out of a morbid fascination to see just how low you will go. Maybe then an eighth of people might think you’re onto something. But then, where are all their comments and public displays of support? It’s really just the same small handful of bitter people who don’t know narcissism when they see it. These are not the “Buddhists of America” but a smattering of people who , rather ironically, think they understood “Cutting through spiritual materialism”

                  • You have no way of knowing this though, it’s just another of your wild inferences, nothing but wishful thinking on your part, whereas I know all when it comes to my blog compared to younand furthermore, I know my fellow Buddhists having been one since I decided as a teenager coming of age in 197o’s that I wanted to do, and they know who I am, I am them, we share the same way of life, whereas nobody knows what your deal is as a Buddhist other than you are an apologist for the 17th Karmapa, Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche, KTD and its affiliate centers whom has nothing but contempt for the Buddhists of the United States of America and how we practice Buddhism, good luck with that, keep up the good work, you shall fail, for their is no question in my mind that my fellow Buddhists of the United States of America will never accept the dictatorship of a Tibetan global elite living in India funded by members of the Chinese Buddhist community whom support the Chinese Communist Party’s attempt to rebrand China as the leader of the Buddhist world.

    • When I speak as I have here directly to the Buddhists of America, the Buddhists of America listen, they care not for people of your ilk attacking one of their own, exactly what I expected you to do in response to this post. I’m speaking truth to power, the 17th Karmapa, Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche, KTD and its affiliate centers, while you throw shade on my résumé as a lama. Keep those snarky comments coming! it’s the last thing the status quo wants their supporters to do, with friends like you who needs enemies, and everything my base of support among America’s Buddhists hate about the status quo you represent. Every Buddhist in America knows someone like you, I can’t thank you enough for the traffic your comments here generate.

  3. Jerry

    It’s clear that all you care about is getting your numbers up here. It’s likely somehow related to your wife’s recent retirement. Now that the two of you have to spend so much time together it makes sense that you are throwing yourself so intensely back into this blog.

    In this vein, I think that you are merely declaring yourself a lama to get a rise out of people and capitalize emotionally from the sense of importance that arises from your throwing the very tradition you claim to love into the toilet.

    In other words, this is a pathetic attention grab, not unlike those of Donald Trump. What’s more, I’ll make the argument that you are so unrealized that the having Donald Trump on the perefiery of your subconscious, you take his manner of communication as something you yourself created.

    Let’s face it, you are insignificant Bill, and no one really cares because you are such an unpleasant hack of a writer that your desperate attempts to place yourself in the center, and not the margins (where men like you invariably end up) is a pathetic reenactment of the role of Willie Loman in Death of a Salesman.

    Hum Phat!

    • Last year when Ogyen Trinley Dorje collaborated with the Chinese Communist Party, a dictatorship, to condemn Traleg Rinpoche’s reincarnation to the very life he claimed to have fled to the West to escape, that was it for me, I knew that as a lama of the 16th Karmapa’s Mahasiddha inspired crazy wisdom Karms Kagyu lineage I had to publicly take a stand against the powers that be, as a matter of principle to hold the 17th Karmapa, Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche, KTD and its affiliate centers to account for the abomination they have become, as far as my numbers, August 2016 was my best month ever as a blogger, 3811 visitors, 7859 views, my best day ever was the second of August, 1215 views, after which I decided I was where I needed to be as a blogger to take what I have been doing here to the next level, as I have already spoken to above, my call to hold the powers that be of the Karma Kagyu sect to account for what they have become, so anyone who wishes to push back against this better have a lot more than snark and wild inference about my personal life if they have any hope to stop me from accomplish my goal, I’m a lama after all, someone who committed the past thirty five years to mastering the oral instructions I have received from Khenpo Karthar Rinpoche, a master of Mahamudra, confirmed by Rinpoche as having mastered said teachings to his satisfaction, so long story short, this is what this is about, not my blog numbers, not my personal life, but a simple matter of principle, mine against those of the 17th Karmapa, Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche, the powers that be at KTD and its affiliated centers, and there is no question that with the moral support of the Buddhists of the United States of America, I am one of their own, we shall overcome any and all advantages apologists for the status quo of Ogyen Trinley Dorje’s Karma Kagyu sect think they have over us as Buddhists, all that they claim to legitimize who they are, all their money, all their power, and make them regret the day they underestimated the commitment of the Buddhists in America to make Buddhism their own, to be Buddhists in our own right second to none in the history of Buddhism.

      • Nyonya

        The weird part is that your blog is a living record of your rude, brutish perspective.

        I think that your appeal to the Buddhists of the United States of America (hardly a unified body btw) is easily undermined by your aggressive petty arguments as well as your wholesale attacks against the very lineage you claim.

        It’s easy to call yourself a lama, it’s much harder to genuinely embody the characteristics of one.

        If you can’t do this, you are deemed to the mediocrity that irks you so much right now.

    • Steven R.A. Johnson

      Wow. In my own personal and political experience, as a delegate in the caucuses and conventions of Colorado, and as a political migrant to New Hampshire (“Live Free or Die”), I must say Lama Bill sounds much more like Dr. Jill Stein, for President, than The Donald.

      Stand with Standing Rock!

Leave a Reply

