My ten years in retreat began in 2006 after the death of my wife’s parents

Simon’s on Clark Street in Andersonville, Chicago, Illinois from yesterday evening

They would not have approved of their daughter supporting me while I stayed at home, whereas with my wife’s friends being lifelong feminists, as long as I kept the house they could get their mind around my being in retreat while my wife was making the bacon, but with my wife’s parents, Walter and Flo, this was a nonstarter from the get go, so life being life, nobody gets to live forever, first Gigi’s mother died, her father died a year later, both of cancer, we were there for them to the end, talk about turning the mind to the dharma, done and done.

3 Comments

Filed under Buddhism

3 responses to “My ten years in retreat began in 2006 after the death of my wife’s parents

  1. Autonomous

    “Un Canadien Errant (The Lost Canadian)”

    Un Canadien Errant (A wandering Canadian,)
    Banni de ses foyers, (banned from his hearths,)
    Parcourait en pleurant (travelled while crying)
    Des pays etrangers. (in foreign lands.)
    Parcourait en pleurant (travelled while crying)
    Des pays etrangers. (in foreign lands.)
    Un jour, triste et pensif, (One day, sad and pensive,)
    Assis au bord des flots, (sitting by the flowing waters,)
    Au courant fugitif (to the fleeing current)
    Il adressa ces mots: (he addressed these words:)
    Au courant fugitif (to the fleeing current)
    Il adressa ces mots: (he addressed these words:)

    “Si tu vois mon pays, (If you see my country,)
    Mon pays malheureux, (my unhappy country,)
    Va dire a mes amis (go tell my friends)
    Que je me souviens d’eux. (that I remember them.)
    Va dire a mes amis (go tell my friends)
    Que je me souviens d’eux. (that I remember them.)

    O jours si pleins d’appas, (O days so full of charms,)
    Vous etes disparus… (you have vanished…)
    Et ma patrie, helas! (And my native land, alas!)
    Je ne la verrai plus. (I will see it no more.)
    Et ma patrie, helas! (And my native land, alas!)
    Je ne la verrai plus. (I will see it no more.)
    Leonard Cohen RIP

Leave a Reply

