Dear Ponlop Rinpoche what became of the monks who raped Kalu Rinpoche?

As the 17th Karmapa’s representative to the American people we the people demand that you share with us what became of the monks that raped Kalu Rinpoche.

As a child, Kalu Rinpoche was raped as a child, he was under the 17th Karmapa’s protection.

The rapist monks were, and presumably are to this day, the 17th Karmapa’s monks.

For all we know one or more of the 17th Karmapa’s monks who raped Kalu Rinpoche are here in our country today.

Any of the 17th Karmapa’s monks could have been involved in the rape of Kalu Rinpoche.

For instance the 17th Karmapa’s monks at KTD.

Perhaps the people of Woodstock, New York, should take this under consideration, as we all should the next time we see a Tibetan in the robes of a monk, and so on.

You get the idea.

For obvious reasons this is a problem for us.

The fact of the matter is that these rapists monks of the 17th Karmapa could be anywhere, thus our need to know what became of the monks that raped Kalu Rinpoche.

We look forward to you in the coming year bringing up to speed on this matter.

7 Comments

Filed under Buddhism

7 responses to “Dear Ponlop Rinpoche what became of the monks who raped Kalu Rinpoche?

  1. Tina

    Bill, I admire your apparent use of Dan Savage’s technique to try and use the Internet against those you are fighting.

    Sadly it seems that most Kagyu lamas are corrupt politicians before they are teachers of dharma.

    How can we get through to Ponlop Rinpoche so that he will even acknowledge the argument?

    • The number of people that have visited this blog to date, 96, 353 and counting, will carry the day as it pertains to the 17th Karmapa.

      If the 17th Karmapa visited the United States in 2016 this number would be even larger, if someone googles the 17th Karmapa today they will end up reading about him here.

      By the numbers this blog is working as a means to an end.

      A transparent Karmapa in America.

      This year the 17th Karmapa asked that people interested in reading about him to only visit his official website which means this is the only place online where you can read about the 17th Karmapa.

      This hurts the 17th Karmapa.

      Imagine if people had other blogs to read about the 17th Karmapa.

      This is good for this blog.

      There are people in a position to write about the 17th Karmapa that don’t because they haven’t been authorized to do so.

      This is bad for the 17th Karmapa.

      There are people in a position to make the case for the 17th Karmapa here, post comments that I can’t delete as fakes, but they don’t because they aren’t authorized to do so.

      This is good for this blog.

      The majority of the comments posted here are instead by people whom can’t disagree without being disagreeable which I have no problem deleting as fakes, this isn’t how real people behave in public.

      This is bad for the 17th Karmapa.

      And so on.

      The worst of outcomes for me as a blogger is to have people making the case of the 17th Karmapa here whom I have to respond to, that being said I say let the sleeping dog, the status quo, snooze while I carry on as I have, writing about the 17th Karmapa, and leave the rest to how people use the internet to inform themselves in the world today.

      • Steven

        Hi Bill, fist time poster and I thought to add my comments. I have read many of your posts, I believe that I understand where you are coming from. Let me try and summarize. You have witnessed many issues with the way that the Karma Kagyu has been run in America specifically and in particular at KTD. You feel like it does not honor the intentions of a true Buddha, the 16th Karmapa, whom you feel deeply grateful towards for sharing his wisdom, blessings, transmissions and lineage with you. You want this to change. Since the Tibetan top down hierarchical structure exists even in democratic countries, particular the US, you feel inspired to try to bring the issues to light by focusing on the strong democratic systems of western societies. And you do this regularly with your blog posts and comments which continue to drawn interest and readers.

        I would ordinarily limit my suggestions to face-to-face interactions but I am going to make an exception. Because I believe what you are doing, you are doing with genuine motivation to help people. Not that I have some superior view or that I think you should or will listen to me. But because I see how much effort you are putting into this and I wish you to succeed in Dharma.

        And from my very limited understanding of the Dharma, I do think some of your comments towards KKR should be avoided towards ones own root Guru. And if ones own root Gurus tells one to directly do or not do something specifically, it is important to give that a lot of importance and consideration.

        Let me follow that by saying, I have my own experiences that are not favorable with KTD and Orgyen Trinley’s Karma Kagyu. And on the other side, Thaye Dorje is looking like someone with genuine qualities and bodhichitta. Sharmapa’s passing gave incredibly obvious signs via rainbows during the cremation his level of realization. But in North America, the KTD and Shambala together have essentially given a monopoly to Orgyen Trinley. And I have seen such unbelievable hostility, and may I say un-Buddhism behavior, towards anyone even open to seeing Sharmapa or Thaye Dorje with faith or pure view. I think perhaps now it is somewhat better but in Tibetan circles, I dare not make comments questioning the current situation. Any position other than Orgyen Trinley is the only Karmapa runs a very high risk of causing irreversible hatred from Tibetans.

        This situation is very sad. There is a need for change, I see where you are frustrated by generally smart, educated teachers, not only allowing it but continuing to support and perpetuate it.

        But from a practitioner standpoint, samaya and pure view are very important, even if we have received teachings from a fake or unenlightened teacher. Because beings are ultimately pure and enlightened.

        So I wish you peace and success, but please be careful and gentle with your comments. There is a risk that rather than causing change to a Buddhist institution, you might give the entirely wrong impression to people and alienate them from the path. Not to mention giving those with an existing agenda more ammunition in their pursuits against the Dharma.

        In Dharma with Love,
        Steven

        • Your concerns were once my concerns back in 2006 when I first began sharing my thoughts on the 17th Karmapa on MySpace.

          My message board, “The Reluctant Lama” went viral.

          It’s membership went from nothing to 20,000 followers in a matter of hours.

          And KTD was not happy that this had happened.

          At the time I couldn’t wait for the Indian Government to be allow him to visit the United States.

          I was told that I had to have Khenpo Karthar Rinpoche’s permission to do so.

          Sadly for KTD it was too late.

          Their absolute control over the Karmapa in America narrative was no more.

          Someone whom I had known since 1981 told me she would “tell on me” if I didn’t stop talking about a project, the Karmapa in America, that which we both had dedicated our lives to since we founded Chicago KTC together as young people.

          Talk about “daddy” issues.

          This obviously isn’t samaya.

          It’s a textbook example of a psychological transference of an unresolved childhood issue which with the benefit of hindsight I can say is not uncommon to the guru-disciple relationship in my experience as a lama.

          I was ten years away from becoming the lama I am today so I in turn responded in kind by informing her that she wasn’t the boss of me.

          This isn’t how samaya works.

          Working with the emotions we both were struggling with ten years ago, part of the process we both committed to when we took refuge with Khenpo Karthar Rinpoche, is not the samaya of the lamas we have both become over the course of our thirty five years as disciples of Khenpo Karthar Rinpoche.

          Samaya is not reducible to causes and conditions.

          Samsara is reducible to causes and conditions.

          I have this from none other than Khenpo Karthar Rinpoche himself.

          That being said as I look forward to 2017 knowing what I know today after ten years of sharing my thoughts on the Karmapa in America online I no longer share your concern regarding my samaya.

          I appreciate your concern.

          I support your going there here.

          What I have done online though, gone where no Tibetan can, is indeed dangerous.

          I have risked everything I hold dear as a dharma practitioner on Khenpo Karthar Rinpoche’s word that samaya is not reducible to causes and conditions, his assurance to a 22 year old me doing my due diligence before taking refuge with Khenpo Karthar Rinpoche that we would never again be apart as guru and disciple, that in taking refuge with him I was not signing up to a lifetime of being afraid of displeasing of him, the very same dysfunctional relationship I had with my parents since I was a teenager living in St Bruno, Quebec, that I had dedicated myself to putting behind me when I left to go to college in the States, my great escape as a 17 year old in 1976.

          • Jane

            The daddy issues and the unconscious desire some practitioners have to turn off their critical thinking and be “package believers” are causes for alarm. The issues you bring up are things the establishment wishes very much to sweep under the rug. Transparency does not seem to be a Tibetan value. Good luck!

            • How ironic then that the undoing of my criticism of the 17th Karmapa is something so easily done, if as we are won’t to expect from any other Buddhist teacher but himself apparently, that he as 17th Karmapa not lie to us.

              Tell us the truth.

              Thanks to the Panama Papers we know that he has lied to us about where his money comes from.

              Shame on him.

              Never again.

              We gave him the benefit of the doubt when the Indian Government arrested him for fraud.

              It was all a big misunderstanding we told ourselves.

              The 17th Karmapa doesn’t understand finance.

              Okay.

              And all the while the 17th Karmapa is hiding money in an offshore bank account.

              How about that million dollar Kagyu Monlam earlier this year?

              Thanks to the Panama Papers we know exactly where the money came from.

              And continues to come from.

              An offshore bank account.

              It turns out that the cash donations the 17th Karmapa was hoardng in suitcases was but the 17th Karmapa’s cash at hand.

              A little something for his sisters next shopping spree.

              What a coincidence that 17th Karmapa has somebody, Ponlop Rinpoche’s brother, also a coincidence, who happens to know somebody, at a law firm, the very same law firm, coincidence of coincidence, used by members of the Chinese Government.

              What a coincidence for the 17th Karmapa.

              As it happens to turn out to be the case the money that the 17th Karmapa doesn’t want us to know about is from members of the Chinese Buddhist community whom support the very same Chinese Government’s occupation of Tibet.

              One China.

              What a coincidence.

              It makes one wonder where the money for the 17th Karmapa’s monastic seat in Woodstock, New York comes from.

              Not us.

              Too bad there is no way for us to know where the 17th Karmapa’s money comes from.

              Actually, there is.

              The 17th Karmapa can tell us where his money comes from.

              We know where the money for the 17th Karmapa’s Kagyu Monlam comes from.

              Too bad we had to read about it in the Panama Papers.

              It boggles the mind.

              The entirety of my criticism of the 17th Karmapa stands on this alone, the 17th Karmapa’s lack of transparency, something that for any other Buddhist teacher in our country today is not too much for us to expect of them.

              What a shame.

              If only the 17th Karmapa could tell us the truth of where his money comes from.

  2. okiebuddhist

    Hi, Bill. Hope Chicago weather and day/night life is treating you well. I haven’t commented lately but still read posts and comments daily via email.

    My practice has not been strong the past year, and it’s time to continually rest in the state of non-meditation and watch the dissolving thoughts release into space.

    Anyway, I wish your wife and you a great holiday. I know you’ll be busy with family and friends.

    Karmapa Chenno!

    Jon

Leave a Reply

