Going through mom’s stuff a pic circa 1982 of me when I wanted to be Buddhist Poet Gary Snyder when I grew up…

lavachequilit.typepad.com

The past month has been a sad but joyful celebration of my mother’s life and our time together as mother and son.

The Quebecois phrase “J’ai mon voyage!”, which transates roughly to “I’m fed up!” captures our life together.

I was fed up with her ragging at me about becoming a Buddhist when she took my picture.

In 1982 she threatened to write me out of her will when I told here I had taken refuge with Khenpo Karthar Rinpoche.

She didn’t come around on me becoming a Buddhist until the Dalai Lama was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1989.

I was glad to find out the other day that I was in the will.

I can’t tell you how many times I was “written out” of my mother’s will over the past 45 years with her.

I simply grew up to not be motivated by money, which is how in 1982 I was an underemployed college graduate with a degree in Sociology, and future lama of my teacher’s lineage of Mahasiddha inspired Tibetan Buddhism, not talking to my mother, long story short, our life together.

Leave a comment

Filed under Buddhism

Leave a Reply

