That “Y’a rien qui dure toujours rien qui soit toujours pareil” from French Twitter Michel Tournier sounds very Tibetan Buddhist to my ear while untranslatable into the Buddhism of China’s 17th Karmapa…

Tire-toi une bûche là ,

Michel Tournier


It very much sounds like what Khenpo Karthar would tell me as a kid, the world weariness of a middle aged Tibetan exile ready to jump at the opportunity to return to his home in Yungshu Prefecture the Wild West of China’s Tibet, famous for its horse races, as painfully romantic as any french intellectual  after the death of Mao, he was done, the last of his kind, which is how I saw my guru, against all I knew intellectually myself as a kid from St Bruno, j’cour les bois,Quebec, a captive nation no less occupied today than Tibet as far Quebec’s French speaking majority are concerned centuries after the British invaded their New France, a way of thinking formed over centuries of resistence so familiar to me, so I knew well what I was getting into when I took refuge with Rinpoche in 1981, a collaborater, which is what he became ten years later when he along with Thrangu, Akong and himself  enthroned China’s 17th Karmapa at Tsurphu, blindsiding their Karma Kagyu sect’s rival since the 11th century, the leader of Tibet in exile, the Dalai Lama himself.

l’affaire est ketchup !

3 Comments

Filed under Buddhism

3 responses to “That “Y’a rien qui dure toujours rien qui soit toujours pareil” from French Twitter Michel Tournier sounds very Tibetan Buddhist to my ear while untranslatable into the Buddhism of China’s 17th Karmapa…

  1. Windhorse

    So why is this Karmapa hiding from his student?

Leave a Reply

