Dorje Phagmo for over 900 years subjugator of Patriarchy in Tibetan Buddhism

Dorje Phagmo was to borrow a phrase from the patriarchal Vajrayana of our day her Yidam, that which Machig Labrön as a young survivor of sexual abuse at the hands of an Indian Yogin subjugated the demon this outrage she suffered, the Indian yogin thought his sexually abusing her would benefit her spiritual development, I call bullshit on this, an excuse men in Tibetan Buddhism use to this day, I’m talking to you Lama Surya Das, no, having a woman get naked and climb on your lap wasn’t to benefit her spiritual development even if as you claim you it was your intention in going there with the woman.

I submit this diatribe for your consideration this morning, not to throw shade on Lama Surya Das, he isn’t a bad man per se for how he rationalized what he did to his student, it’s a thing in Tibetan Buddhism, Kalu Rinpoche did it, Trungpa Rinpoche went there too, but notwithstanding their intention, as a 63 year old man, if they went there with my daughter I’d cut their balls off as a torma offering and dedicate the merit to benefit sentient beings. but that being so this morning while visualizing the field of merit and offering my body to the hideous manifestation of Machig’s yidam above her head stomping with her left foot a man on his back, this detail from her life story and my own father as protector demon, don’t touch my baby girl, and so on clicked for me. I suddenly felt a flash of anger which I brought to my severing of my body as I made my gory offering to the devil of inflation I had summoned, thus subjugating it. May this benefit sentient beings without exception.

Posted with apologies to Lama Surya Das, nothing personal my friend, without reading in the name of keeping it real and benefiting sentient beings without exception. 🌲

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Dorje Phagmo for over 900 years subjugator of Patriarchy in Tibetan Buddhism

  1. Derek

    2. I would not recommend this one unless it is watched until the very end:

  2. pb2323

    To find out whether or not you are controlled by circumstances and situations, there are myriad things you can do, such as skip lunch. If you are a man, wear a bra and walk around in public. If you are a woman, go to a fancy party in your bedroom slippers. If you are married, see if you can tolerate someone pinching your spouse’s bottom. See if you are swayed by praise, criticism, being ignored, or being showered with attention. If you get agitated, embarrassed, or infuriated, then more than likely you are still under the spell of the conditions of habit and culture.DKR

  3. Phil

    A good tiger rug attracts many invisible helpers, dakinis and protectors. Our practice is more enjoyable, and our meditation stronger and more luminous.
    https://www.damaruworks.com/accessories/tiger-seat/

  4. Derek

    In a certain way this is like comparing apples to oranges, and in another way it is fair.

    It was ok- fine, and dandy.

    Then “me too,” happened, and the zeitgeist shifted.

    Now it’s not “ok,” it’s disagreeable, and unacceptable.
    …hmmm- well I guess no one wants to appear homely, and second rate…

  5. Leona

    Look, the guy is and was an egomaniac. I have seen him and I was not impressed. I hope you are doing well. No post in 2023.

Leave a comment